---
title: "How to Edit User Roles + Permissions"
url: "https://help.greenspacepro.com/en/article/how-to-edit-user-roles-permissions"
language: "en"
last_updated: "2025-09-25T16:24:16.762Z"
---

# How to Edit User Roles + Permissions

In this tutorial, we’ll show you how to edit user roles + permissions.

*Admin Only: If you have a manager or member account in GreenSpace, your role does not allow access to these options. Please contact your admin for assistance.*

## **Editing User Roles + Locations/Projects Access**

Navigate to the left side of the screen and click on "Settings" to reach the Settings Overview page. 

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com/49bba803-a430-4436-80dd-c66938f7f178)

From the Companies tab, click the three dots under the Action column on the company you would like to adjust the user's role. Select "Company Roles" from the drop-down menu.

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com/d3dde399-703f-449c-b5e2-7f27079a380b)

Locate the user you would like to edit by utilizing the search bar or dropdown menus.

![](https://cdn.livechat-files.com/api/file/kb/file/14101278/07568c93fb-b3d0837ab340b9a2c83f.png)

Click the three dots under the Actions column on the user you would like to edit. Select "Edit" from the drop-down menu.![](https://cdn.livechat-files.com/api/file/kb/file/14101278/d2f9c6a664-df4f62898968290dfbc7.png)

From the drop-down menu, select the user role you would like to assign.

Role Access Overview:

-   **Administrator:** The user gets access to all private and public locations, projects, and files within the company. The user will also have full access to all information about your company.
-   **Manager:** The user gets access to all private and public projects, only to public locations, and access to files in those projects and locations to which the user will have access.
-   **Member:** The user only gets access to all public projects, locations, and files.

You can also edit what locations and projects the user has access to. Granting a user access to a Location includes all public info. To give access to private sections, adjust permissions within the Location.

IMPORTANT: You must first grant the user access to a Location in the Company Settings, then open the Location to assign them to specific private sections.

Then click "Save Changes" when you are done.

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com/84b80c08-eb9d-4f8f-8878-0aa29785ef05)

## **Grant Users Access to Private Sections of a Location**

After you have given the necessary permissions for the specific private location, click on the **Locations** option in the main menu to view a list of all available locations. Hover over the location where you want to give the user access and click the view eye icon to open the Location.

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com/50b0dfdf-a755-4e15-8abd-9d81de41a504)

Select the private section you want to grant access then click the add user button next.

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com/f065c4ec-6f54-426c-b8a4-a9916e9e1b98)

Select the user(s) you want to grant access to by checking their names. To quickly locate a specific user, use the search box at the top. Then click "Done" to save your changes.

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com/5d2c6432-4089-4426-bf4b-d0886cab96ea)

## **Privacy**

### **Project + Location**

It is important to note a project or location, once created, will automatically be private unless made public. A private project or location can only be viewed by a user if they are assigned. The only exemption to this rule are Administrators, which can view and edit all locations or projects in any invited company. 

### **User Role Project Permissions**

|  | Administrator | Manager | Member |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Create Project | Yes | Yes | No |
| Add Phase | Yes | Yes | No |
| Add Task | Yes | Yes | No |
| Update Task Status | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Update Start & End Dates | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Create, Add, & Remove Tags | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Add Custom Column | Yes | Yes | Yes\* |
| Upload Project & Task Files | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Comment on Project | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Edit Task/Phase Name | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Edit Project Name | Yes | Yes | No |
| Update Task Priority | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Archive and/or Delete Project | Yes | Yes | No |
| Add Collab User to Project | Yes | Yes | No |
| Change Project Privacy | Yes | Yes | No |
| Change Project Category | Yes | Yes | No |
| Change Project Type | Yes | Yes | No |
| Assign Project Manager | Yes | Yes | No |
| Submit Assignment/Inspection | Yes | Yes | No |
| Provide Attestation | Yes | Yes | No |
| Change Project Due Date | Yes | Yes | No |
| Assign Project Location | Yes | Yes | No |
| Invite User to a Project | Yes | Yes | No |
| Clone Project | Yes | Yes | No |
| Publish Project as Template | Yes | Yes | No |
| Manage Project Without Invite | Yes | No | No |

\*In an assigned project

### **User Role Location Permissions**

![undefined](https://cdn.livechat-files.com/api/file/kb/file/14101278/8d3c556946-a842718f0fcfd0e3ca3c.png)

### **User Role File Permissions**

![undefined](https://cdn.livechat-files.com/api/file/kb/file/14101278/d8dd9e4096-09f4d0fdca1df28ced99.png)
